Tags

, , , ,

Mother Earth - Oil on Canvas 24"x24" -2013

Someone asked me one day to write a story “to explain the origin of my name”, so as promised, here is the story.

My name is Gaia Orion. “Is that your real name?” I am asked often. It all depends what we mean by “real”!

I was born Anne Marie Cecile, a classic French and Catholic name. I married a Canadian man named Gabrion Orion, so this gives the Orion of my family name. When I was pregnant with my twins, my husband was making lists of potential names for the babies and when he came up with the name Gaia as a suggestion I immediately said “Oh, this name is for me!”. It is around this time that I was just starting to paint and I wanted an artist name to sign my paintings…..

THIS BLOG  HAS MOVED. FOLLOW THIS LINK TO READ THE ARTICLE:

http://gaiaorion.com/the-origin-of-my-name/

